Versioning and Archiving

Versioning support in Kentico makes you sure that all previously published content is still available. A new document version can be created automatically whenever you make changes to a document. It is possible to compare versions side-by-side and roll back to a previous version if needed. It is also possible to archive documents so that they are no longer published, but still available for later use.

 Document versions list

Keep Track of What You Published in the Past

A new document version is created automatically whenever you hit Save. Previous versions are kept available for the content administrators. With each version, you can see:

  • who and when made the changes
  • editor's comments on the changes
  • version number


Version numbers can be entered either manually or you can have the CMS to number modifications as minor versions (2.1, 2.2, etc.) and published versions as major versions (2.0, 3.0, etc.).

 

Side-by-Side Comparison of Versions

One of the most useful features of document versioning is side-by-side comparison of versions. Using this feature, you can:

  • see exactly which parts of a document were modified in particular versions
  • conveniently switch between compared versions
  • rollback to previous versions directly from the side-by-side comparison window

 

One-Click Rollback

It is effortless to rollback to any of the previous document versions. All you need to do is to click a button. If the document uses workflow, it has to go through the approval process again after roll back.

Archiving

Document archiving is a powerful tool when you want dated content to be stored elsewhere yet still retrievable upon request or with lower availability in your caching strategy.

Recycle Bin

With Kentico, you don't have to worry about deleting a document - all deleted documents are stored in the Recycle Bin so that you can later restore them if you made a mistake or need to see a document you no longer display on your site.

search
Menu