Keep Track of What You Published in the Past
A new document version is created automatically whenever you hit Save
. Previous versions are kept available for the content administrators. With each version, you can see:
- who and when made the changes
- editor's comments on the changes
- version number
Version numbers can be entered either manually or you can have the CMS to number modifications as minor versions (2.1, 2.2, etc.) and published versions as major versions (2.0, 3.0, etc.).
Side-by-Side Comparison of Versions
One of the most useful features of document versioning is side-by-side comparison of versions
. Using this feature, you can:
- see exactly which parts of a document were modified in particular versions
- conveniently switch between compared versions
- rollback to previous versions directly from the side-by-side comparison window
It is effortless to rollback to any of the previous document versions. All you need to do is to click a button. If the document uses workflow, it has to go through the approval process again after roll back.
Document archiving is a powerful tool in case that you don't want a document to be published anymore, but you still want it to be present in the system for later use. An archived document is no longer displayed on the website, but it's still available in the content repository.
With Kentico CMS, you don't have to worry about deleting a document - all deleted documents are stored in the Recycle Bin so that you can later restore them if you made a mistake or need to see a document you no longer display on your site.